An electoral review of the Royal Borough of Kensington and Chelsea is being undertaken by The Local Government Boundary Commission for England (LGBCE). The review will seek to change ward boundaries across the borough to make sure that each Councillor represents a similar number of people and that the Council’s wards reflect local communities. Following public consultation, the LGBCE is proposing that the Council reduce the total number of Councillors from 54 to 51.

The Boundary Commission has now invited information on a new pattern of wards for Kensington and Chelsea based on a Council size of 51 members.

The Council’s review has been overseen by an all party Working Group comprising Cllrs Ahern (chairman), Mackover, Jones, Foreman and Mosley. On behalf of the majority of the Working Group, Council officers have developed a proposed map that will keep three Councillors per ward, as few major changes to existing ward boundaries as possible and change ward boundaries where it provides a better match with local neighbourhoods or simplifies the shape. These can be viewed here:

View a map of the resulting illustrative new boundaries [PDF] (warninglarge file size 2.4Mb)

Elector block estimates and explanatory notes [PDF] (warning large file size 1.7Mb)

Political party groups within the Council are considering the maps to see whether they wish to adopt it as their preferred proposal, or whether to develop and submit an alternative proposal. 

If you would like to comment on the illustrative new boundaries produced by the Council, please write to:

Head of Governance Services
Room 158
Town Hall
Hornton Street
London W8 7NX

You can also send your views on the new electoral wards to the Local Government Boundary Commission by email or by post to:

The Review Officer (Kensington and Chelsea)
Local Government Boundary Commission for England
Layden House
Turnmill Street
London EC1M 5LG

The closing date for comments is 3 December. For more information, visit